in other news...   

Birchard-Schneider Win to Finish 4-2, Advance to Playoffs

Tuesday Mar 23 2021
by Photo: Curling Canada-Michael Burns

A 8-6 win by Shannon Birchard & Caitlin Schneider over Manitoba champions Krysten Karwacki & Derek Samagalski earned Birchard/Schneider a 4-2 round robin record and a berth in the 12-team playoff round. Birchard/Schneider needed the win and a loss by Nancy Martin & Tyrell Griffith to advance. Martin/Griffith lost 7-6 to Laura Walker & Kirk Muyres, the only team to go undefeated through the round robin. Birchard/Schneider advanced from a number of teams at 4-2, based upon the tie-breaker - the pre-game last stone draws to the button.

Briane Meilleur and Mark Nicholls wrapped up their round robin with an 8-6 win over Chaelynn Kitz & Kyler Kleibrink. 

002 020 20  6
110 203 01  8

301 020 01  6
030 202 10  8

(TUESDAY NOON DRAW) Sahaidak-Lott AND Jones-Laing Advance with 5-1 Records: Round robin play in both POOL A and POOL B wrapped up on the early afternoon draw Tuesday. A win by Manitobans Kadriana Sahaidak & Colton Lott and a loss for Jenifer Jones & Brent Laing gives both a 5-1 record as both adavnce to the 12 team playoff round. Sahaidak/Lott controlled the televised game with New Brunswick's Melissa Adams & Alex Robichaud from the outset, leading 3-1 after tree ends and 6-2 after six. At 5-1, the Manitobans tie for first place in the pool with Jocelyn Peterman & Brett Gallant who rank first due to the round robin win over Sahaidak/Lott.

Jones/Laing scored a three coming home to tie Ontario's Kim & Wayne Tuck but saw Kim Tuck make a double kill on the extra end for a steal and a 9-8 victory. Jones/Laing finish 5-1 and tied with Kerri Einarson & Brad Gushue but are ranked first thanks to their round robin win.

0010 100 0X  2
102 021 1X  7

011 020 401  9
100 103 030  8

(TUESDAY MORNING) Lawes-Lawes Finish with a Loss and a 1-5 Record: Pool play wrapped up Tuesday morning in POOL E. Kaitlyn & Connor Lawes, with a 7-5 loss to LIsa Weagle & John Epping, finished play with a single win in six starts. Weagle/Epping finished 5-1 and tied with Danielle Shmiemann & John Morris. Having beaten Weagle/Eppping earlier in the round robin, Schmiemann/Morris finish first in POOL E but both 5-1 teams will advance to the playoff round. Newfoundland-Labrador champs Mackenzie Mitchell & Greg Smith, the only team to beat Schmiemann/Morris, finish 4-2 and may advance as one of the top teams based on record and pre-game last stone draw results.

102 000 20  5
020 112 01  7



Back to Score-Board