in other news...   

Neufeld- Cowling Manitoba Senior Champions

Thursday Feb 25 2016

A last rock women's final and an extra end, last rock men's final provided great curling entertainment as the Tim Hortons Senior Women's and Strtahcona Trust Senior Men's wrapped up Monday afternoon at Fort Rouge.   

In the Women's final, Terry Ursel-Neepawa scored a pair on the seventh to tie the game with Sandra Cowling-Neepawa 4-4. Ursel forced the play throughout the home end and left Cowling facing three when she threw her last rock. The in-turn tap-back on an Ursel rock in the four foot circle was perfect to give the Hamiota team the championship after having previously lost two finals.

Defending Canadian champion Randy Neufeld-La Salle controlled the final game with former champion Bob Sigurdson-Granite but Sigurdson fought back to score three coming home and tie the game at 5-5. On the extra end, Neufeld made a draw for a single point with his last rock for the 65 win and a return trip to the Canadian Championship.

Neufeld-Sigurdson; Cowling-Ursel Manitoba Senior Finals - Randy Neufeld -La Salle (Dean Moxham, Peter Nicholls, Dale Michie) is a win away from returning to defend the Canadian Senior Men's championship title they won a year ago. Neufeld will play Bob Sigurdson-Granite in the Strtahcona Senior men's final Monday afternoon at 1PM at Fort Rouge. Sigurdson, whose team includes Darren Oryniak and Al Purdy from his 2013 champion team along with AJ Girardin, defeated former champion Kelly Robertson-Neepawa 8-1 in the Monday morning semifinal.

The Tim Hortons Senior Women's final features Sandra Cowling-Hamiota (Sheila Gregory, Jackie Brooks, Jeannine Skayman, Coach Dale Brooks) against Terry Ursel-Neepawa (Gwen Wooley, Tracey Igonia, Brenda Walker, Coach John Csversko). Cowling advanced with a 9-4 win over former champion Laurie Deprez-Stonewall while Ursel defeated Maureen Bonar-Stonewall 6-3 to reach the final game.

Robertson, Sigurdson, Neufeld Final Three in Strathcona Trust Senior Men's Playoffs - Defending champion Randy Neufeld-La Salle and his team have advanced to the final of the Strathcona Senior Men's Championship at Fort Rouge with a 4-3 Page 1-1 Playoff game over former champion Kelly Robertson-Neepawa. The two teams had finished the round robin with perfect 7-0 records. In the 2-2 game, former champion Bob Sigurdson-Granite beat Doug Riach-Granite 5-3 to advance to the semi-final against Robertson Monday morning at 9AM. The winner meets Neufeld in the championship final at 1PM.

Earlier in the day, while Robertson and Neufeld were winning their 7th round robin game, Sigurdson won his last game to finish 6-1 and Riach defeated Curtis McCannell-Pilot Mound on an extra end to finish 5-2.

In the Tim Hortons Senior Women's, the quarterfinals took place on Sunday evening. Defending champion Kim Link-East St Paul lost 7-6 to Terry Ursel-Neepawa and former champion Laurie Deprez-Stonewall was a 9-6 winner over Deb McCreanor-Lorette.

The 9AM semifinals pit Deprez against Sandra Cowling-Hamiota and Ursel against Maureen Bonar-Stonewall.

Robertson, Sigurdson, Neufeld Advance to Strathcona Trust Senior Men's Playoffs: Kelly Robertson's Neepawa team, winners of three of the last five Manitoba Strathcona Senior Men's Championships (2011, 2012, 2014), and 2013 champion Bob Sigurdson-Granite have assured themselves of a spot in the Senior Men's playoff round at Fort Rouge. With one game to play, Robertson has a 6-0 record while Sigurdson is 5-1. Behind them in pool play are three teams at 3-3 (Randy Dutiaume-Thistle, Brad Wainnikka-Elmwood, Butch Mouck-Gilbert Plains). Robertson defeated Sigurdson 6-5 on Saturday afternoon so, no matter what the results of the last round robin games Sunday morning, Robertson will finish in first place in the pool.

Should the Robertson team go on to win the championship they would join the legendary Lloyd Gunnlaugson as the only teams to win four Senior <Men's titles. While Gunnlaugson won four in row from 1982 to 1985, Robertson, Doug Armour, Peter Prokopowich, and Bob Scles would be the first team to win four with the same line-up.

In the other pool, defending Manitoba and Canadian Senior Men's champion Randy Neufeld-La Salle improved to 6-0 record, and locked up first oplace in the pool, by defeating Doug Riach-Granite 5-3 on the Saturday evening draw. Murray Warren (7-5 loss to Curtis McCannell-Pilot Mound) is also at 4-2. McCannell, who is 3-3, plays Riach while Warren plays Neufeld on the last draw at noon Sunday. Wins by McCannell and Neufeld will create a 4-way second place tie at 4-3. Wins by Riach and Warren would give them 5-2 records and a second place tie. Wins by either Riach and Warren would give that team sole position of second place.

In the triple knock-out Tim Hortons Senior Womens, Sandra Cowling-Hamiota and Maureen Bonar-Stonewall have qualified for the playoff round from the A-Event. Bonar's team includes two members (Bonar & Allyson Stewart) of the Lois FOwler 2014 Manitoba and Canadian Senior champions who went on to win the 2015 World senior title.


CurlManitoba is hosting the Strathcona Trust Senior Men’s and Tim Hortons Senior Women’s Provincial Championships at the Fort Rouge Curling Club February 25-29, 2016. The winner of the Strathcona Trust Senior Men’s and Tim Hortons Senior Women’s Provincial Championships will have the opportunity to represent Manitoba at the 2016 Canadian Senior Championships in Digby, NS March 28-April 3, 2016.

Top 5 Seeds Senior Men
1) Randy Neufeld - La Salle
2) Bob  Sigurdson - Granite
3) Kelly Robertson - Neepawa
4) Team Riach - Granite
5) Randy Dutiaume - Thistle

Click Here for Senior Men's Live Results

Top 5 Seeds Senior Women
1) Kim Link-East St. Paul
2) Maureen Bonar - Stonewall
3) Laurie Deprez - Stonewall
4) Sandra Cowling - Hamiota
5) Terry Ursel - x

Click Here for Senior Women's Live Results

Back to News