in other news...   

Lyburn Wins 25th Anniversary Manitoba Curling Tour Men's Championship

Sunday Dec 13 2015

Twenty-five curling seasons after Vic Peters and his Manitoba champions won the inaugural Manitoba Curling Tour Men’s Championship, William Lyburn’s Granite team of Jason Gunnlaugson, Richard Daneault, and Braden Zawada have won the 2015 MCT Championship presented by Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries. The event was played December 11-13 in Dauphin.

Lyburn posted a 4-3 victory, with a final end last rock draw to the eight foot circle to defeat Alex Forrest-East St. Paul (Travis Bale, Ian MacMillan, Connor Njegovan).

Lyburn and his team won the championship’s $2,500 first prize. Team Forrest picked up $2,000 and the Viterra provincial championship berth which goes to the highest finishing eligible team. Lyburn and his team already had a provincial men’s berth in hand.

In the semi-finals, Lyburn defeated Scott Ramsay-Granite (7-3) while Forrest defeated David Bohn-Granite (6-1). The semi-finalists each earned $1,500. Team Bohn had already earned an entry into the Viterra Championship in Selkirk through the CTRS process while Ramsay’s semi-final finish earned his team a Viterra invitation.

Quarterfinalists Matt Dunstone-Granite and Dennis Bohn-Assiniboine Memorial picked up the final two provincial berths as a result of their final MCT ranking positions. The other two quarterfinalists were Jared Kolomaya-Stonewall and Richard Muntain-Pinawa. The quarterfinalists all picked up $1,000 cheques.

Back to News