in other news...   

Montford Wins 20th Anniversary Manitoba Curling Tour Women's Championship

Saturday Dec 12 2015

The Manitoba Curling Tour’s Women’s championship, an event which started five years after its men’s counterpart, was won Sunday in Dauphin by Michelle Montford-Assiniboine Memorial (Lisa DeRiviere, Sara Van Walleghem, Sarah Neufeld). Team Montford defended the title they won a year ago at Assiniboine Memorial by stealing a single point coming home for a 4-3 victory over clubmate Joelle Brown (Allyssa Calvert, Erika SIgurdson, Lindsay Baldock)

In the semi-finals, Brown defeated Darcy Robertson-Rossmere (7-4) and Montford beat Beth Peterson-Fort Rouge (5-2). Robertson and Peterson each earned $1500.

A pair of Dauphin teams, the Tiffany McLean and Melissa Barsewsky foursomes reached the quarterfinals.

The Montford, Brown, and Robertson teams all earned Manitoba Curling Tour invitations to compete in the Scotties Tournament of Hearts presented by Monsanto in January 2016 in Beausejour.

Playoffs Set in MCT Championships in Dauphin- The Sunday morning quarter-finals of the Manitoba Curling Tour Men’s Championship presented by Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries are set with three teams on the men’s side of the draw already pre-qualified for the Viterra Men’s provincial championship standing in the way of the weekend hopes of the other five men’s teams.

The 9:30AM quarterfinals on the men’s side of the draw feature:
David Bohn-Granite vs Matt Dunstone-Granite
Jared Kolomaya-Stonewall vs Scott Ramsay-Granite
William Lyburn-Granite vs Dennis Bohn-Assiniboine Memorial
Alex Forrest-East St. Paul vs Richard Muntain-Pinawa

David Bohn, Jared Kolomaya, and William Lyburn have already pre-qualified for the Viterra Championship in Selkirk. If the three of them win their quarterfinals, then the winner of the Forrest-Muntain will be proclaimed early as the recipient of the MCT’s Viterra berth which goes to the highest finishing eligible team. However, any other combination of results will mean the competition for that provincial berth could go right to the end of the 4:30pm final.

After the champion (highest finishing eligible team) spot is assigned, the top three ranked teams on the Manitoba Curling Tour for this season will also earn provincial entries.

In the Manitoba Curling Tour Women’s Championship presented by Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries, all six remaining teams came into the weekend hoping to win a Scotties Tournament of Hearts invitation.
In one quarterfinal, Darcy Robertson-Rossmere will play Tiffany McLean-Dauphin, with the winner advancing against Joelle Brown-Assiniboine Memorial in the 1PM semifinal. In the other 9:30AM quarterfinal, Michelle Wiens (Montford) plays Melissa Barsewsky-Dauphin, with the winner advancing against Beth Peterson-Fort Rouge.

The champion earns the first Scotties berth available. Following that game, berths will be assigned to the top two teams on the women’s MCT rankings.

Back to MCT-Notes