in other news...   

CurlManitoba Scholarship Recipients Awarded

Tuesday Jun 16 2015
by CurlManitoba Release

CurlManitoba has announced five Scholarship recipients for the 2014-15 season. Four $1,500 CurlManitoba scholarships have been awarded under the Curling For Life Endowment Fund Scholarship Program. In addition, the annual Edna Moffat Spirit of Youth Scholarship of $1,000 has also been awarded.

The four CurlManitoba scholarship recipients for 2014-15 are: Brett MacDonald, Winnipeg; Hayden Forrester, Winnipeg; Cassandra Serle, Manitou; and Megan Jubenvill, Gilbert Plains. In the fall, Megan and Brett will be entering University 1 at the University of Manitoba. Cassandra will be studying science and arts at the University of Manitoba and Hayden will be attending l’universite de Saint Boniface in the faculty of science.

The Curling For Life Endowment allocates interest annually towards 4 scholarships. CurlManitoba continues to focus on initiatives to raise funds for the Endowment fund. Interest from the fund is allocated annually to three priority areas: scholarships, development programs, and promotion of the sport of curling. The fund is managed on behalf of CurlManitoba by the Winnipeg Foundation. Contributions to the Curling for Life Endowment Fund can be made through the Winnipeg Foundation website or by cheque to Curling For Life Endowment Fund, c/o CurlManitoba, 145 Pacific Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3B 2Z6.

This year’s recipient of the Edna Moffat Spirit of Youth Scholarship Kaitlyn Payette, is the 20th since the scholarship was established after Edna Moffat passed away in 1995. The $1,000 scholarship is available to any junior woman curler in Manitoba. It is funded through a trust fund established by the family of the former Manitoba Ladies Curling Association Past President and Honourary Life Member. Kaitlyn will be attending Brandon University in her first year of Education in the fall.

Back to News