in other news...   

Arnott Wins Provincial Coaching Award

Saturday Apr 25 2015

In a morning filled with stories of leadership, dedication, and outstanding service, the 2015 Coaching Manitoba IMPACT Awards honoured the contributions and achievements of some of the very best in the Manitoba coaching community on Saturday, April 25.  This annual event celebrates Manitoba’s best coaches and acknowledges the outstanding contributions they have made to their athletes and sport over a number of years.

“Coaches play an integral part of the amateur sport system while making a valuable contribution to the community,” said Jeff Hnatiuk, President & CEO, Sport Manitoba. “They serve as role models and teachers for our youth, and their efforts are worthy of honour and recognition.”
“We are thrilled to congratulate the winners of the Coaching Manitoba Impact Awards,” says John Stinson, CEO, Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries. “We are tremendously grateful for your commitment to coaching excellence and your significant contribution to the development of young Manitoba athletes and their chosen sport.”
This year’s award winners are:

Peter Williamson Memorial Award (Train to Compete/Train to Win Category)
 Janet Arnott, Curling – Winnipeg

Vince Leah Memorial Award (Fundamentals Category)
 Bill Gendron, Speed Skating - Winnipeg

Dr. Jack Hunt Memorial Award (Learn to Train/Train to Train Category)
 Cole Grant, Water Ski – Winnipeg

Peter Dick Award (School System Category)
 Eric Vincent, Multi Sport – Winnipeg Sturgeon Heights
Shaw Media/Global News Active for Life Coach
 Joe Wiwchar, Baseball - Morden
Community NCCP Coach Developer Award
 Jim Gosman – Winnipeg

 The Manitoba Aboriginal Sport and Recreation Council recognized the winners of the 2015 Manitoba Aboriginal Coaching Awards. Congratulations to Malcolm Blacksmith (Sioux Valley Dakota Nation – Lacrosse) and Christina (Tina) Keeper (Nisichawayasihk Cree Nation – Hockey).
 Sport Manitoba also honoured Manitoba coaches who have coached at International Events in the previous year as well as individuals who have been coaching a minimum of 25 years in the province. Please visit our website for a listing.

Back to News