in other news...   

Jones Wins Scotties in Winkler

Wednesday Jan 21 2015

Jennifer Jones and her team had a good day Sunday, winning the Scotties Tournament of Hearts  presentred by Monsanto and also being announced as Manitoba's 2014 Team of the Year and recipient of the Cactus Jack Wells Sports Impact Award at the 59th annual Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters banquet.

Jones and her St. Vital team defeated Kerri Einarson-East St. Paul 5-2 in the Scotties final in Winkler, the same margin of victory as the Saturday evening 9-6 Page 1-1 Playoff game. Einarson had defeated former champion Barb Spencer-Assiniboine Memorial in the Sunday afternoon semi-final.

Playoffs set in Scotties; All-Stars Announced - Jennifer Jones & Kerri Einarson will meet in the 1-1 Page Playoff Game at the Scotties in Winkler. The game is scheduled for 6pm and is available on Sportsnet. The Jones and Einarson teams both finished with perfect 7-0 records in their competition pools.  The winner earns a spot in the Sunday afternoon final at 4PM.

The loser drops to the Sunday 11:30AM semifinal where they will play the winner of the 2-2 Page Playoff game.  That game,which takes place at 8:30PM Saturday, features Barb Spencer against Kristy McDonald. Spencer finished the round robin with a record of 6-1. McDonald was 5-2 and had to win a tiebreaker game against Joelle Brown. The final result was a 10-2 win by McDonald which earned her team an important extra hour break before the 8:30 match.

Recognizing a dominant team performance and individual excellence, Skip Jennifer Jones and her entire team have been selected as the Awards & More All-Stars at the 2015 Scotties Tournament of Hearts presented by Monsanto by the members of the Manitoba Curling Media Association in attendance at the 2015 Championship in Winkler.

Team Jones curls out of the St Vital Curling Club and consists of Skip Jennifer Jones, Third Kaitlyn Lawes, Second Jill Officer, and Lead Dawn McEwen. It is the 2nd time for Jones, 1st time for Lawes, 4th time for Officer, and 3rd time for McEwen that they have been recognized as All-Stars – but it is the first time a complete team has been recognized.

Pictured: Resby Coutts – CKLQ, Jennifer Jones, Kaitlyn Lawes, Jill Officer, and Dawn McEwen

Einarson Leads at 6-0 - Kerri Einarson was being cautious after her second win Friday. After improving to 6-0 with those two wins – all she would say is that assures us of a tiebreaker.

With a win Saturday morning over Kristy McDonald, Einarson will go undefeated through the round robin for the second straight year and move into the 1-1 playoff game at 6pm. With a loss she’ll be tied with McDonald at 6-1 and facing a tiebreaker game with Joelle Brown.

Brown’s plays the 3-3 Kaileigh Strath team who will be trying to finish with a positive record. With a Brown win a Brown will be at 6-1 as well. So it is a must win game for Brown – and then watch to see if McDonald and Einarson are 6-1 OR IF Einarson is 7-0 and McDonald is 5-2.

To finish out their championship, 1-5 Tina Kozak from Neepawa plays winless Tiffany McLean and #2 seed Jill Thurston who is out of it at 3—3 plays Janet Harvey who is 1-5.

8-Ender For Einarson at Scotties - Last year people were talking about Kerri Einarson’s run to the Scotties final in Virden. This year after only one game – the East St Paul skip and here team are the topic of conversation again – this time for scoring what is believed to be the first 8 ender in Manitoba provincial championship play. WIth the eight, Einarson scored a 7 end win over Dauphn’s Tiffany McLean.

In other games on the noon draw:
#2 seed Jill Thurston beat Kaileigh Strath 9-4
#3 Kristy McDonald was a 9-6 winner over Tina Kozak of Neepawa
AND Joelle Brown defeated Janet Harvey 7-5.

On the 8:30 AM opening draw, the seeded teams all won.
#1 Jennifer Jones defeated Terry Ursel’s Landowne team 7-4
#5 Michelle Montford beat Colleen Kilgallen-Roland 8-5
#8 Darcy Robertson posted a big win over Kelly Wiwcharuk-Snow Lake
#4 Barb Spencer scored a pair of threes in the second half of the game for an 8-3 win over Stacey Fordyce and her Brandon team.

Back to Score-Board