in other news...   

Hainstock Foursome Wins Westman Masters Super League

Thursday Dec 18 2014

Photo: Brian Johnston

The Lory Saban Brandon entry, skipped by Rae Hainstock (Tony Hayward, Lory Saban, Grant McMullan) won the Westoba Credit Union Masters Super League Thursday in Brandon. Team Saban posted an 8-3 win over Murray Duncan-Virden in the semi-final and a 6-4 win over Jim Dyck-Brandon in the final. Dyck had beaten Al Smalley-Brandon in the other semi-final. The Haintock skipped team had posted a 12-1 round robin record to lead the way while Smalley and Jim Renwick were 10-3 behind them. In the other group, Dyck, Duncan and Lee Robins-Brandon finished in a 9-4 3-way tie for first.

Earlier, the Saban/Hainstock foursome had won a regional playoff berth into the Manitoba's Credit Union Masters provincials in Swan River in March.

12-1 Lory Saban Brandon
10-3 Al Smalley Brandon
10-3 Jim Renwick Brandon 
9-4 Rick Thompson Souris
9-4 Brian Lowdon Brandon
8-5 Murray Solomon Shoal Lake
8-5 John Christiansen Rivers
6-7 Keith Privat Brandon
4-9 Bruce Aitken Erickson
4-9 Mark Fisher Wawanesa
4-9 Clare Colquhoun Brandon
3-10 Bruce Ray Brandon
3-10 Ron Anderson Shoal Lake
1-12 Mel Harvey Minnedosa

9-4 Jim Dyck Brandon
9-4 Murray Duncan Virden
L9-4 ee Robins Brandon 
8-5 Doug Armour Souris 
8-5 Frank Gudz Brandon
8-5 Wayne Griffin Brandon
7-6 Ray Smart Brandon
7-6 Eric Rawlings Hamiota
6-7 Bill Schettler Plumas
6-7 Ric Morrison Ninette
5-8 Ken Gardiner Clearwater
4-9 Murray Foster Virden 
3-10 Norm Hemstad Brandon
2-11 Marty More Deloraine 

Back to Score-Board