in other news...   


Monday Dec 01 2014

Michelle Montford-Assiniboine Memorial (Lisa DeRiviere, Sara Van Walleghem, Sarah Neufeld, Courtney Blanchard) defeated clubmate Barb Spencer (Katie Spencer, Holly Spencer, Sydney Arnal) 7-5 to win the inaugural edition of The Sunova Spiel at East St. Paul. Montford and Spencer moved up the Women’s Rankings of the Manitoba Curling Tour presented by Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries and now hold down the 2nd and 3rd ranking positions respectively. Both teams have already earned invitations to compete in the Manitoba Scotties Tournament of Hearts presented by Monsanto.

Team Montford earned $2,600 and the Spencer foursome picked up $1,800.

Semifinalists Janet Harvey (5-3 loss to Spencer) and Darcy Robertson (6-5 EE loss to Montford) each earned $1200. Harvey improved to #5 on the MCT Rankings while Robertson improved to #9.

Quarterfinalists Kerri Einarson-Gimli, Kim Link-East St Paul, Rachel Burtnyk–Assiniboine Memorial and Kristy McDonald-Granite all earned $800. McDonald retained her top spot on the MCT Women’s Ranking list while Link and Einarson improved their MCT Ranking positions to 5th & 7th respectively. Burtnyk moved into the top 20 for the first time this season, the highest ranking enjoyed by a team still eligible for the provincial junior women’s championship.

Next on the MCT Women’s schedule will be MCT Championship presented by Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries, December 12-14 at Assiniboine Memorial Curling Club. Pending final confirmation of Ranking positions, invitations to compete in the December 12-14 MCT Championship will be issued later in the week.

MCT Women`s Rankings, TOP 20 as of December 1:
1. Kristy McDonald-Granite (140)
2. ** Michelle Montford-Assiniboine Memorial (132)
3. ** Barb Spencer-Assiniboine Memorial (16)
4. Colleen Kilgallen-Roland (110)   
T5. Janet Harvey-Assiniboine Memorial (100)
T5. Kim Link-East St Paul (100)
7. Kerri Einarson-Gimli (88)
8. Jill Thurston-Granite (84)
9. Darcy Robertson-Fort Rouge (82)
10. ** Jennifer Jones-St. Vital (74)
11. Joelle Brown-Fort Rouge (66)
12. Jennifer Clark-Rouire (54)
13. Terry Ursel-Arden (42)
T14. Kaileigh Strath-Winkler (40)
T14. Tracey Horgan-Sudbury (40)
16. Chantelle Eberle-SK (38)
T17. Robin Campbell-La Salle (32)
T17. Stacey Fordyce-Brandon (32)
T19. Rachel Burtnyk-Assiniboine Memorial (30)
T19. Ayumi Ogassawara-JPN (30)
* Points subject to final verification of eligibility
** Denotes teams already qualified for the Provincial Championship – Scotties Tournament of Hearts

MCT Manitoba Women’s Cash Winnings, TOP 15 as of December 1:
1. Jennifer Jones-St. Vital  $21,675
2. Jill Thurston-Granite   $15,025
3. Kristy McDonald-Granite $14,625
4. Michelle Montford-Assin.  $7,835
5. Janet Harvey-Assin. Mem. $6,360
6. Colleen Kilgallen-Roland $5,910
7. Barb Spencer-Assin. Mem. $4,560
8. Kim Link-East St. Paul  $3,695
9. Kerri Einarson-Gimli  $3,585
10. Darcy Robertson-Ft Rouge $3,235
11. Joelle Brown – Ft. Rouge $2,940
12. Beth Peterson-TBA  $1,660
13. Terry Ursel-Lansdowne $915
14. Rachel Burtnyk – Assin. Mem. $880
15. Kristy Watling-TBA  $800

Back to MCT-Notes