in other news...   

Dunstone Wins DEKALB Men's Final

Sunday Nov 23 2014

Matt Dunstone’s University of Manitoba team, the current Canadian University Men’s champions, have won the Men’s Division of the DEKALB SuperSpiel in Morris. With the win, the team has added $10,000 to the bank account they are accumulating to fund their trip to the World University Championship in Spain in February. (Pictured with the team are Town of Morris rep Bill Ginter (l) and Darrel Penner-Rocky Mountain Equipment/Case IH)

With the 7-3 win over Scott Ramsay-Granite, the Dunstone U of M  team(Jim Coleman, Dan Grant, Chris Gallant) moves into the top 20 on the Rankings list of the Manitoba Curling Tour presented by Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries. This creates the unique situation of one skip being ranked in the top 20 with two completely different teams as Dunstone’s junior team is currently ranked #4.

Ramsay and his team earned $6,000 and improved their ranking from #4 to #2 for the season.

Dunstone defeated a USA national High Performance Team skipped by Craig Brown in the semifinals while Ramsay beat Tommy Sullivan-NS. The semifinalists earned $3,000 each. Quarterfinalists Daley Peters-TBA, William Lyburn-Granite, Cliff Beaulieu-Deer Lodge, and Jeff Hartung-SK all earned $2,000.

The playoffs in the Women’s Division of the DEKALB SuperSpiel wil be played Monday in Morris.

Ramsay-Dunstone DEKALB SuperSpiel Final - Scott Ramsay-Granite scored a pair coming home to beat Tommy Sullivan-NS (6-5) while Matt Dunstone's Granite foursome posted a three on the 6th end en route to a 7-5 win over Craig Brown - USA. Ramsay faces Dunstone in the final game of the bonspiel with the winner taking home $10,000 and $6,000 going to the loser.

In the Women's B-Qualifying games, Tracey Horgan-NON (4-3 over Cathy Auld-ON) and Kristy McDonald-MB (9-2 over Breanne Meakin-ON) advanced to the Monday playoff round, joining A-Qualifiers Jennifer Jones and Michelle Montford.

C-Qualifiers All Win DEKALB Men's Quarterfinals - Winning a C-Qualifier started the pathway to the semi-finals for three of four quarterfinal winners Sunday morning at the DEKALB SuperSpiel in Morris. Matt Dinstone and his University of Manitoba Canadian University Champions defeated Daley Peters (7-1) on the strength of an early 6-ender; Craig Brown's USA National High Performance team beat Jeff Hartung-Sk (5-2); and Tommy Sullivan's Nova Scotia foursome beat William Lyburn by the same 5-2 score. In the 4th quarterfinal, Scott Ramsay was also a 5-2 wnner over Cliff Beaulieu and the Canadian Deaf Champion team.

International Flavour to DEKALB Men's Playoffs - Craig Brown's USA team, the Matt Dunstone foursome prepping to go to the Wolrd University Championship, and Tommy Sullivan's Nova Scotia entry are the C-Qualifiers in the Men's Division of the DEKALB SuperSpiel in Morris. Brown defeated defending champion Steen Sigurdson (7-3),  Dunstone posted a 4-1 win over Ryan Hyde, and Sullivan was a 4-2 victor over Sean Grassie. PLayoffs are set for 9AM Sunday in Morris.

In the Women's Division, Jennifer Jones beat Breanne Meakin 5-3 to become the second A-Qualifier, joining Michelle Montford.

Hartung, Beaulieu, Ramsay B-Qualifiers in Morris - Cliff Beaulieu and his team play with challenges most curlers dn't have to deal with - they are the National Deaf Curling Champions so the standard call of 'hurry hard' doesn't work very well for them. However, in an effort to be better prepared for their trip to the world deaf curling championship next spring, the Beaulieu team has undertaken a more aggressive schedule under coach Lorne Hamblin than ever before. And today in Morris, they made a big step forward when they qualified for the Sunday playoff round with an 8-5 win over defending bonspiel champion Steen Sigurdson. Jeff Hartung-SK was also a B-qualifier with a 7- 4 win over Ryan HYde-Portage. Sigurdson and Hyde remain alive in the bonspiel's C-Event.

Ramsay drops into a B-Qualifier game against Tommy Sullivan-NS while Hartung plays Ryan Hyde. In the third B-Qualifier game, Steen Sigurdson, the bonspiel's defending champion meets Cliff Bealieu and his National Deaf Champion team.

In the Women's Division, Michelle Montford is the first qualifer, defeating Jill Thurston 7-4 in an A-Qualifier.  The second A-Qualifier will be named on the 6pm draw Saturday when Jennifer Jones plays Breanne Meakin.

Lyburn, Peters Qualify in Morris - Daley Peters (5-4 over Scott Ramsay) and William Lyburn (7-0 over Jeff Hartung-SK) are the first qualifiers in the Men's division of the DEKALB SuperSpiel in Morris. Ramsay drops into a B-Qualifier game against Tommy Sullivan-NS while Hartung plays Ryan Hyde. In the third B-Qualifier game, Steen Sigurdson, the bonspiel's defending champion meets Cliff Bealieu and his National Deaf Champion team. The B-Qualifiers are scheduled for 3pm Saturday.

In the Women's division, Michelle Montford will play Jill Thurston in an A-Qualifier Saturday afternoon. Jennifer Jones plays Ayumi Ogasawara-JPN and Breanne Meakin plays Erica Brown-USA in A-Games on the noon draw with the winners meeting in a 6pm qualifying game.

Back to Score-Board