August 2015

Stoughton to Manage Canadian Mixed Doubles Curling Program
Posted in: News
One of the most accomplished skips in curling history will add his knowledge base to the emerging discipline of mixed doubles, it was announced today... read story

Travelers Curling Club Championship Moves in New Direction
Posted in: News
One of the most popular curling events in Canada will have some behind-the-scenes changes beginning with the 2015 event in Ottawa. The Travelers Curling Club... read story

Dauphin to Host Manitoba Curling Tour Championships
Posted in: MCT-Notes
The Manitoba Curling Tour (MCT) presented by Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries has announced that the annual MCT Men’s and Women’s Championships will be played in... read story

July 2015

2016 Canadian Mixed Doubles to be played in Saskatoon
Posted in: News
The intensity level will be ramped up when the 2016 Canadian Mixed Doubles Championship gets underway next March in Saskatoon.  The national two-player championship, in its... read story

June 2015

Format change, New Age/Residency Rules Adopted for Tim Hortons Brier, Scotties Tournament of Hearts
Posted in: News
Pictured (from left): Curling Canada’s 2015-16 Board of Governors-effective September 2015: Lena West, Cindy Maddock, Peter Inch, Cathy Hughes, Hugh Avery, Maureen Miller, Shirley Osborne,... read story

Sport Manitoba Hosts Groundbreaking Ceremony for the Canada Games Sport for Life Centre
Posted in: News
Sport Manitoba today hosted a groundbreaking ceremony for Phase 2 of the Canada Games Sport for Life Centre.  After ten years in the making, Sport Manitoba is... read story

Record $2-million Donation to Benefit Young Canadian Curlers
Posted in: News
Canada’s next generation of curlers will benefit from a record-setting $2-million donation to For The Love of Curling — Curling Canada’s philanthropic foundation. The donation, from... read story

Warren Hansen Inducted into Curling Canada Hall of Fame
Posted in: News
Curling Canada’s Hall of Fame welcomed its class of 2015 on Tuesday night, with one name not previously announced being added to the list. Warren... read story

CurlManitoba Scholarship Recipients Awarded
Posted in: News
CurlManitoba has announced five Scholarship recipients for the 2014-15 season. Four $1,500 CurlManitoba scholarships have been awarded under the Curling For Life Endowment Fund Scholarship... read story

Where do you find Curlers in the Summertime?
Posted in: Just-My-Opinion
Your quick answer is probably - at the golf course or the ball park. For this pair of Manitoba junior champions, formerly competitors and now teammates, the... read story

May 2015

Curling Canada, Laurie Artiss Extend Longstanding Pin Partnership
Posted in: News
One of Canadian curling’s best-known traditions and partnerships will continue, it was announced today by Curling Canada. A new long-term contract will keep The Pin People-Laurie... read story

Looking Forward to the Curling Canada National Meeting
Posted in: News
I want to thank CurlManitoba for nominating me for a possible position on the Curling Canada Board of Governors. Equally, I want to say thank... read story

CEO departing Curling Canada
Posted in: News
Greg Stremlaw, Curling Canada’s Chief Executive Officer, is departing the organization to pursue other executive opportunities in sport, he announced today.  Stremlaw, who joined Curling Canada... read story

Qualifying Process Unveiled for 2017 Tim Hortons Roar of the Rings
Posted in: News
Curling Canada has announced that an expanded field for the final step of qualifying for the 2018 Winter Olympics in Pyeongchang, South Korea, will be... read story

B.C. Captures Canadian Wheelchair Curling Gold Medal, Manitoba Earns Bronze
Posted in: News
Manitoba's Wheelchair curling team, Gold Medalists a year ago, had to settle for bronze in 2015. Manitoba's Dennis Thiessen, Mark Wherrett and Jamie Stone were... read story

April 2015

Champions Greeted by Piper Hilda Towerzey; A CurlManitoba Tradition
Posted in: News
When Piper Hilda Towerzey greeted Lois Fowler’s World Senior Women’s Champions at the Winnipeg Airport on Monday, April 27, in CurlManitoba’s traditional greeting for returning... read story

Lorette Celebrates Harvey Lyons - Curling Canada Volunteer of the Year
Posted in: News
The community of Lorette came together Saturday evening (April 25) to honour local volunteer Harvey Lyons, who had been announced earlier this year as the... read story

Arnott Wins Provincial Coaching Award
Posted in: News
In a morning filled with stories of leadership, dedication, and outstanding service, the 2015 Coaching Manitoba IMPACT Awards honoured the contributions and achievements of some... read story

Gold Medal for Fowler's Team Canada at World Seniors
Posted in: Canada's-Record
**SATURDAY SUMMARY: Lois Fowler and her Brandon team (Maureen Bonar, Cathy Gauthier, Allyson Stewart) have won the World Senior Women's Championship Gold Medal... read story

Jacobs Steals Players Championship on Final Shot
Posted in: Score-Board
It was a game Mike McEwen and his team appeared to have won. They had been perfect in the Players Championship at the Mattamy Athletic... read story

A Successful Manitoba Weekend
Posted in: Just-My-Opinion
In one of the best weekends in recent memory for Manitoba curlers, our province’s medal haul increased by four  OR five if we want to... read story

Forrest & Njegovan Announce a New Team for 2015-16
Posted in: News
For the past few years, Manitobans have had two teams to cheer for week after week if they followed the weekly World Curling Tour and... read story

Forrester Team Wins Gold At Optimist International U-18 Championship
Posted in: Score-Board
Matching the accomlishment of Ron Westcott's Masters team earlier in the day, Hayden Forrester's Manitobans (Andrew Clapham, Brett McDonald, Cole Chandler) have won the Gold... read story

Marquette Duo Wins Canadian Stick Curling Championship
Posted in: Score-Board
Jim Rouse and Ross MacMillan from Marquette are the 2015 Canadian Srick Curling Champions. The Marquette duo defeated Jim Pyper and Peter Rey of St... read story

Lang, Drews Win Travelers Club Championships in Carman
Posted in: Score-Board
Tyler Drews-Fort Rouge (Josh Drews, Daryl Evans, Jake Zelenewich) and Marlene Lang-St Vital (Pamela Kok, Jackie Hendrickson, Lori Campbell)... read story

< Newer  - 1 ...  2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... 78 -   Earlier >