in other news...   

Fort Rouge Hosts the 2009 Manitoba Lotteries Womens Curling Classic

Wednesday Oct 21 2009
by Committee News Release

 Winnipeg's Fort Rouge Curling Club in Winnipeg will play host to the 2009 Manitoba Lotteries  Women’s Curling Classic (formerly known as the Casinos of Winnipeg Women’s Curling Classic) on October 23-26, 2009. Along with title sponsor, Manitoba Lotteries, presenting sponsors Ray Turnbull and Kay Sugahara return as well. 

Thirty-two of Canada’s and the World’s top teams (two European), will assemble in Winnipeg to vie for a prize purse of $60,000, with a top prize of $15,000.   The field includes several Canadian teams vying for the opportunity to participate in the Olympic Trials and eventually represent Canada at the 2010 Winter Games in Vancouver. In addition, the Manitoba Lotteries Women’s Curling Classic has been selected by the Canadian Curling Association as one of three Grand Slam events for the season, teams qualifying for the championship round will receive Grand-Slam points:  First (40 pts); Second (27 pts); Semi-Finalists (22 pts); Quarter-finalists (18 pts).

Reigning Canadian champion and hot off two World Curling Tour victories this year, the Jennifer Jones team will face Manitoba’s own Patti Burtnyk in opening round action on Friday, Oct. 23 at the Fort Rouge Curling Club.  Other first round key match-ups will feature multi-world champion and Olympic bound Annette Norberg from Sweden taking on Manitoba’s Shauna Streich.  

Once again spectators will see the best in the world and be treated to very exciting and spectacular shot making throughout the four days of this event.  Up-to-date results as well as the draw may be viewed by logging onto and follow the links. 

The 2009 Manitoba Lotteries Women’s Curling Classic will feature a triple knockout format starting with 5 draws on Friday, followed by 5 draws on Saturday and 4 draws on Sunday at the Fort Rouge Curling Club.  Eight teams will qualify for the Championship round slated to go on Monday, October 27 starting at 10:00 a.m.  The semi-finals will go at 1:30 p.m. followed by the final at 5:00 p.m. 

In addition, organizers are very pleased and honoured to once again announce the Lorraine Toth Junior Curling Sponsorship Awards to be presented to one male & one female Manitoba Junior curling team.  The presentation of these awards to the two selected teams will take place at 7:15 pm on Sunday, October 25.

Back to Coming-Events