in other news...   

Stoughton?96 Champs into Sport Hall of Fame

Wednesday Sep 05 2007

By Resby Coutts

Jeff Stoughton and his 1996 World Champions will be inducted into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame at a ceremony November 17th at the Winnipeg Victoria Inn.

Stoughton, Ken Tresoor, Garry Van Den Berghe, and Steve Gould were previously inducted into the Manitoba Curling Hall of Fame in 2002.

The 1996 champions, representing the Charleswood Curling Club, captured their provincial championship berth by winning the major Free Press Event in the MCA Men?s Bonspiel. They went on to win 30 games while losing only five as they captured the Manitoba, Canadian and World Championships.

Their Manitoba championship record was 9-2. It concluded with four consecutive wins, highlighted by back-to-back victories over Dale Duguid in the B Side and A-B championship finals.

They had an identical 9 win ? 2 loss round robin record at the Labatt Brier. The Canadian win included three victories (round-robin, Page Playoff, and Final) wins over Kevin Martin.

At the Ford Worlds in Hamilton, Stoughton?s team record was 10-1 with playoff wins over Norway and Scotland.

Stoughton?s team will become the 8th curling team in the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame. They join W.H. Burns (?32), Ernie Boushy (?64-?67), Don Duguid (?70-?71), Orest Meleschuk (?72), Mabel Mitchell (?83), Connie Laliberte (?84), Kerry Burtnyk (?95).

Curler Athletes recognized include Bob Dunbar, Ab Gowanlock, Lloyd Gunnlaugson, Gordon Hudson, Joan Ingram, Bea McKenzie, Jim Ursel, Ken Watson, Howard Wood Sr., and Bryan Wood.

Curling builders include Bill Lumsden, Cec Watt, Joan Whalley, and Shirley Bray.

Contact the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame for information about tickets for the November 17th induction dinner.

Back to News